West Bank Art Guild -
For the last several years, at the May Installation Banquet, a special award named after our founder, Mildred Lewis, has been given to a member who has been active in promoting “art” in the Guild and the community as well as participating in the Guild functions.  Only members that are NOT previous recipients are eligible to be nominated.  Nominations are made at the March meeting.  Ballots are collected in April and the award is presented at the May Installation Banquet.  Listed below are past winners of the award.  A brief bio of each artist will be printed and distributed prior to the vote. In case of a tie, two plaques will be awarded.
Past Mildred Lewis Award Recipients
Sadie Stoufflet        1990
Glinda Schafer        1991
Terry Aliff              1992
Darlene Johnson      1993
Margie Camardelle   1994
Glen P. Weber         1995
Be Boe                     1996
Maurice Stockton III  1997
Joan LeBlanc &
Elouise Logan          1998
Jan Breaux              1999
Judy Erwin               2000
Isabel Larue             2001
Fran Barlow              2002
Emmy Murawski       2003
Carol Clavier            2004
Gail Sheasby            2005
Carol Patai               2006
Mariloy Galle'            2007
Bettie Jean Bordelon 2008
Josie Murphy &
Dolly Stakelum          2009
Melody Breaux           2010
Deborah Kerwin          2011
Flori Landry                2012
Sylvia Mothe               2013
Marie Fink                  2014
Brenda Fortmayer       2015
Sharon Barrilleaux       2016
During the 1970’s the West Bank Art Guild created the philanthropic Scholarship Award. Since its inception the Award has been funded by a variety of activities including the Purchase Awards donated during Open Shows, and a silent auction open to the public and patrons of West Bank Art Guild members.  Five dollars from each person’s annual membership dues goes toward the fund.  Half of the sum collected from the monthly 50/50 lottery supports the Scholarship Fund.  Proceeds received during raffles for donations of paintings, art supplies, and art books by members are added to the Fund.  Purchase Awards of $50 or more are solicited during the Annual Open Show.  Unused Purchase Awards or other donations are deposited into the Scholarship Fund.
The winner or winners (when funds allow) receive a scholarship based on merit. The Scholarship Awards is usually $1,000, but may be more or less, depending upon the funds available.  The student who wins must be a graduating senior who resides on the West Bank and attends any high school in the metro area.  He or she must intend to pursue a major in the arts at any college or university of his/her choice. All area high schools are notified of the scholarship in the fall so that students who apply may prepare a portfolio in readiness for judging. A panel of judges who are art teachers interview the prospective winner in early February/March and decide which student merits the scholarship for that year during judging in April.  Several of the student’s art works are displayed at the Guild’s May Installation Banquet to which the student and his/her parents are also invited. The student art work is displayed at the West Bank Regional Library to showcase the student’s talents and abilities.  A check is sent directly to the college or university of the student’s choice. 
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint